Chipotle Black Bean Burgers

You know I love turkey burgers. Love them because they’re tasty, not a red meat, and quickly becoming a favorite in my family.SAM_5551

 

I also love a good veggie burger or bean burger. The spice in those patties is usually phenomenal–maybe because they have a lot of skeptics?

What I don’t love is that restaurants often make them in a way that’s super caloric and overdone, sometimes dressing them up too much or making them too large and squishy to enjoy.

Maybe that’s why I’ve avoided them for so long. I never thought it would be an easy recipe. I’ve also had my fair share of goopy bean burgers, and well those are just gross.

Then I found myself with about 5 cans of black beans leftover from that nutrition study and no great ideas for how to use them. I found this black-bean burger recipe from Ari’s Menu on Pinterest.com, and I thought, “Why not?”

Ari’s version supposedly crumbled easy, but I was surprised because mine didn’t at all. Maybe it’s because I ground the beans down a bit more than normal–I’ve adapted this one quite a bit. Or maybe my preference for broiling them is what helped them emulsify better? I’m not certain, but I’m happy they didn’t get goopy and fall apart.SAM_5535

Try them! You’ll love them, especially for a quick Meatless Monday dinner.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 ccup black beans, drained and rinsed
  • dash of minced garlic
  • a dash of each: chili powder, cumin, onion powder, red pepper flakes
  • 2 t ground oats or 1 t cornmeal
  • a few cilantro leaves, chopped
  • dash of hot sauce

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to broil. Lightly grease a broil-safe pan. Set aside.
  2. Place all ingredients in your food processor. Blend for 20-30 seconds until combined. Remove and set on a plate or other clean surface for molding. Use your hands to form the patty, being sure not to make the patty too thin or too thick. I recommend about 1/2 an inch in thickness and well packed.SAM_5554
  3. Place on pan and broil for about 3 minutes on one side, 2 on the other. Serve immediately on a toasty bun with all your favorite veggies and a little more hot sauce if you’re feeling crazy.
  4. If you have a can with 3 to 3.5 servings you can go ahead and triple the ingredients to make extra. The directions will stay the same, just be sure to serve warm. Or if you’re a singleton like me (with no roomates or family members to serve) store leftovers in refrigerator for up to one week, or 3 months in the freezer.
2 thoughts on “Chipotle Black Bean Burgers

  1. Pingback: Bean Burgers | Atlantamomofthree

  2. Pingback: Spicy Tuna Burger | Collegiate Culinaire

Leave a Reply

