Cabbage Noodles

SAM_5441

I’m still on the cabbage kick. No, not the silly soup diet. I’m fascinated with the plant and how goooooood it tastes boiled. I’m thinking my surprise with the veggie’s tastiness is part of what’s making me love it right now.SAM_5446

I’ve often sauteed it and worked it into my pastas, and that tastes pretty great. But feeling curious one night, I wanted to see how my Paleo friends eat this as a noodle.

Yes, a noodle.

Does it actually taste like a noodle? Is it good?

I tried it, and I will say that if you’re looking for a noodle substitute that has the same taste and texture as a noodle, look elsewhere.

Now that doesn’t mean I didn’t like it. No, I actually really liked it. A lot.

I will say, however, that I don’t think I could eat cabbage noodles alone, as a meal staple. I think I’d need to mix it with noodles or meats for a more filling meal.SAM_5444

But curious reader, try it! It’s a fun little culinary experiment and a big heaping serving of veggies. Can’t beat that.

Ingredients

1/3 head of cabbage or 1.5 cups

Directions

Bring a pot of water to a boil.

Meanwhile, chop your cabbage into “noodles” by slicing lengthwise. I think the thinner the better.

When you achieve a rolling boil, add in cabbage and let it go until you know it’s become tender, but too long will make it mushy. Strain as you normally would with noodles, but be sure to drain well.SAM_5440

Now add in your sauce, veggie, and meat favorites! I did a red sauce with onions, tomatoes, and ground turkey.

Leave a Reply

