Decorative Pots Made at Paint+Pour Ladies’ Night

My friend Sareena hangs her hat among the craftiest of sorts. I’ve posted about her parties before; they’re brilliant and fun, perfect for 20- or 30-somethings needing to unwind, have a little wine, girl talk, and craft catharsis.

This time the theme was “Paint+Pour.” You guessed it, pouring paint and wine–and let’s be honest, a little gossip, too.

You can figure out the wine part on your own, but let me tell you how we painted the pots…

We poured!

Or dripped, I guess. The concept is simple but creates a really neat effect.

Simply flip a pot, any size or material seems to work just fine (just make sure you’ve got water-proof paint), and flip it upside down. Using a small plate to catch paint drips. For larger pots, you might use a drop cloth or newspaper, but know that the paper may be hard to peel off the bottom later.image (3)

Take your paint. Drip one color on the bottom edge of the pot. Let it slide down. Repeat.

I used a pattern of sorts. I did a round of evenly spaced white drips, and then a round of blue, and then a round of yellow, overlapping slightly.

For the most part, one round will cover most of the pot, but a few spots may be left uncovered. If you want to cover all, do another round of one color or all. If you like the color of terra cotta peeking through, then leave it.

You can try so many color combinations. My friends got a little more wild than I did with the color combinations, but I like simple and playing it safe. Three-color schemes and straight lines work for my taste.

What did I end up doing with my pots?image (2)

I wish I could say I grew them, but my failed attempts at gardening with no direct sunlight or porch makes growing a little frustrating.

My mother, however, loves gardening. She’s got the green thumb, AND it was Mother’s day. AND Target has a ton of cute gardening accessories on sale, so guess who got yet another themed-gift-basket creation by me? My lovely, amazing mother. I’ll pour to her any day. She loved the gardening gift basket I made for her, but her favorite part of it, hands-down, were these pots. She always appreciates a cool craft. It’s adorable to see how she still gets so excited to receive something I made.

You’re never too old for crafts. And mom’s are never too old to receive them.

Happy Mother’s Day to all the moms, the sisters, aunts, church friends, co-workers, Mr. Moms, and all the other people in your life who nurture and care for others. That’s the message I heard in church this morning, the one I think Mother’s Day should be about, celebrating the great people in your life who care for you. And what better way to show you care than to give something you made yourself. Something that took thought, time, and care. And that’s important; it returns exactly what they’ve given to you.

Leave a Reply

