Enchi-lotta! Pasta with Turkey Taco Meat

SAM_5394

For The Register’s Datebook last week, I wrote an article on 5 ways to celebrate the fifth. The most memorable part of that interview/ gathering process, talking to the owner of La Tapatia Grocery in Des Moines, who laughed at me for being like so many other silly Americans celebrating what Mexican-Americans consider “a normal day.” It was a pleasant jab–oxymoron intended. I hung up smiling.SAM_5395

But how did I spend my Cinco de Mayo? Did I partake in any of the very exciting festivities I wrote about?

No, but I still had un gigante amount of fun.

Saturday I went to El Azteca in Ames. A little skeptical, I went for the festive feel and friends. I was pleasantly surprised. My shrimp tacos were fairly good. The rest was standard Tex-Mex fare, the kind and quality that you may be picturing right now. Average. But my friends are far from average, so it was a great time.

#littlesalty

#littlesalty

#littlesweet

#littlesweet

On the actual holiday I was in for dinner. A long day of editing and researching for a bus-comm textbook left me cooped up in my apartment most of the day, but hankering for an exciting dinner. No friends were free, but my overabundance of whole-wheat pasta from this semester’s nutrition study gave me some ideasSAM_5403

So my favorite dinner fare (pasta+veggies+protein) headed south of the border, and for 10 minutes or so, my taste buds did, too.

So easy. So spicy.

And a nice break from my usual Italian taste.

Ingredients

2 oz. dry pasta (elbow, rotini, or even spaghetti noodles would work)SAM_5389

1/4 cup enchilada sauce

2-3 oz. ground turkey

dash of minced garlic

1.5 T taco seasoning

1 cup veggies of choice (I sauteed tomatoes, onions, kale, and olives)

optional: cheese

Directions SAM_5408

-Prepare pasta as directed. Meanwhile prepare veggies in pan, simmering in cooking oil and garlic.

-In another small pan, grease with cooking spray and brown turkey meat. Add in taco seasoning slowly ’til covered. If it starts to dry out, add a little water. Or if you like it spicy like I do, Tabasco.

-Now put it all together. Get a large bowl. Layer one is pasta. Drizzle with half of enchilada sauce. Layer two is meat. Layer three is veggies, the rest of the enchilada sauce, and cheese if you’re adding it on. Serve hot.

One thought on “Enchi-lotta! Pasta with Turkey Taco Meat

  1. Pingback: Gluten-Free Enchiladas | Collegiate Culinaire

Leave a Reply

