Southwestern Tofu Scramble

SAM_5028

I don’t think I’ve written yet about the study I’ve been participating in for the past 7 weeks, but it’s been a fascinating experience. There’s a tofu-rrific connection coming, I promise…SAM_5030

So I’m part of this Iowa State nutrition study testing the effects of high- and low-fiber diets on iron absorption levels. Every two weeks, I’m handed 2-3 heaping bags of high-fiber foods: whole-wheat rolls, pastas, rice, sliced bread loaves, black beans, and tofu. This is fantastic because not only am I a poor little graduate student, but also because I’ve been learning all about how studies work in other fields. The primary researcher, Seth, is a friend of mine. It’s always interesting to see how things are going with this. I imagine he’ll be very successful.

But for all the free food (and compensation at the end), there are a few drawbacks. For one, I have to log just about everything I eat, which can be tedious. I also have to take special care to include something high-fiber at every meal. I usually do this anyway, but when eating out it’s a little challenging.

The biggest challenge, though, has been restricting my meat consumption to only 2-3 3-oz. servings a week! Despite misconceptions about me being vegetarian–which even some of my dear friends continue to think–I am not. I eat meat most days, usually for dinner.SAM_5038

Tofu has been my saving grace. I need the protein. To be honest, I’m not crazy about the jiggly stuff, but I have found some cool ways to incorporate it into my diet. My favorite is this southwestern-style scramble, which I usually serve on corn tortillas.

Ingredients

1/4 container of firm tofu

1 jalapeno

1/2 Roma tomato, chopped

garlic and minced onion, to taste

dash of cumin and chili powder

optional: tortillas, kale, cheeseSAM_5029

Directions

-Warm a skillet to medium heat. Spray with cooking oil and begin adding in garlic, onion, tomato, and jalapeno. Sautee for a few minutes.

-Meanwhile cube tofu. You can cut as haphazardly as you like. The crumblier the better for those wanting this recipe to taste more like an egg-imitation one. Add into sauteeing veggies.

-Add in seasonings and cook until tofu is heated through and somewhat crumbly. Serve warm with warm tortillas.

I like to add kale and sometimes salsa to mine. Add your usual Tex-Mex favorites, like queso, ranchero sauce, etc. Enjoy!

 

4 thoughts on “Southwestern Tofu Scramble

  1. Pingback: Crispy Edamame Snack | Collegiate Culinaire

  2. Pingback: Cucumber & Dill Flatbread | Collegiate Culinaire

  3. Pingback: Enchi-lotta! Pasta with Turkey Taco Meat | Collegiate Culinaire

  4. Pingback: Dessert Nachos & Sweet Yogurt Dip | Collegiate Culinaire

Leave a Reply

