Sweet & Salty Pretzel Crunch Bars

There are some pairs that are just perfect.

Gin and tonic.

Birds and the bees.

Pen and paper (+ creative inspiration).

And if you’re lucky, a perfect pair of jeans. 🙂

Of course, there are plenty of perfect food pairings, too. The one I can’t resist? Ever? Sweet and salty. There was a point in my life when I thought Nature’s Valley Sweet-and-Salty Peanut Butter Granola Bars were going to be the end of me. I inhaled them!

That’s an exaggeration, I know. There’s nothing bad about them, especially in moderation, as the Greeks would advise. But if you’re like me, sweet and salty is hard to do in moderation. But what makes this flavorful pairing so hard to resist also makes it highly desirable.

Desire away, dearests! I’ve adapted this Sweet & Salty Pretzel Crunch Bar recipe from Chocolate-Covered Katie’s Pretzel Bars. It’s perfect for one, and I think this version is made even sweeter with a honey and peanut-butter honey substitution, too.

Makes 3 bars.

Ingredients

1/4 cup brown rice crispies (smashed up a bit)

2 T spelt or white-whole wheat flour

5-6 mini pretzel twists, crushed

scantest dash of stevia

1/4 t vanilla

1 T organic raw honey

1 T peanut butter (I used an organic-honey version from my local health market)

Directions

Combine dry ingredients. Mash up well.

Then add in honey, peanut butter and vanilla. Press into dry ’til sticky and well mixed.

Press into bars or other desired shape. You can either freeze for a colder bar or melt a few dark chocolate chips over the top. Spread the melted chips evenly and let cool for a nice crunchy coating. Top with one pretzel or more crushed ones.

I hope you enjoy these as much as I did. I’m planning on making them for a potluck very soon. I know my writing center tutors will gobble them up.

Leave a Reply

