Swedish Hasselback Potato

If you want to make me happy, remind me of Sweden.

Sverige holds the dearest place in my heart. I studied in Uppsala in summer 2010 and had the time of my life.

And although I never tried this Swedish version of the baked potatowhile I was over there, I love the association with Swedish culture. That was enough to draw me to this recipe.

Pull apart each crispy layer or smash with a fork for a crispy mashed potato.

What made me love it, though, was the simplicity of preparation. So easy to make. Just slice, coat with healthy oil, and let it bake!

And what made me love it even more was pulling apart each slice and dipping them in sauce like French fries. So crispy and delicious.

Forget the McDonalds 99 cent heart attack. This potato is the perfect, make-it-at-home side that won’t leave your arteries clogged for years to come.

Ingredients

-1 medium potato

-oil of choice (olive, harissa, butter, coconut, maybe?)

-a little crushed garlic

-Optional: seasonings of choice (crushed red pepper and a little cajun seasoning worked well for me)

Directions

-Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Grease a broil safe pan. Set aside.

-After washing potato, slice the potato horizontally, being careful not to slice all the way through or too thin (about 3 to 4 mm is a good thickness). Continue preparing the potato by coating thoroughly with oil, garlic, and seasonings.

-Place prepared potato on pan and bake for about 35 minutes.

-Once the potato seems baked all the way through–soft enough to eat, but somewhat crispy–turn the broilers on to high, broiling for 3-4 minutes more.

-Remove and let cool a bit. Serve warm with seasonings and sauce of your choice.

Leave a Reply

