Mini Spice Cake

Most people start baking spice cakes later in the season, closer to Christmas, but I love to indulge this seasonal cake as soon as possible.

Maybe that’s because spice cake reminds me of my mom. We both love this kind of cake, so every time I smell that spicy aroma baking in the oven, I’m reminded of good times with her. It’s a comforting little reminder that food really does connect you to certain people or experiences. And I think that’s pretty neat.

You might finish this delicious cake without a crumb to spare, but maybe you linger over it because it reminds you of something you care about, too, something or someone you associate with the holiday season. If not, let me warn you that it’s big enough to be shared by two, by my standards.

But then again, sometimes sharing is overrated.

Grab a fork!

Ingredients

3 T spelt flour

1 T whole wheat flour

pinch of: salt, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, ground cloves, and vanilla

1 t maple syrup or agave nectar

1 T milk

3 T applesauce

Directions

-In a small bowl, combine all dry ingredients thoroughly. Push to one side. On the other side, mix together the wet ingredients, and then combine both dry and wet.-Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease a small ramekin dish. Set aside.

-If you would like to mix, now would be the time to do so. Consider adding shredded coconut, dried fruit, chocolate chips, etc.

-Spoon the batter into the ramekin. Bake for about 15-20 minutes, or until you can insert a toothpick and it comes out clean.

-Serve warm (the only way spice cake should be eaten!).-To remove the cake, quickly (and carefully) flip your ramekin upside down onto your serving dish. If the cake doesn’t immediately detach, give it a strong thud on the bottom of the dish. I left mine flipped upside down and let it cool a bit before frosting.

I topped my spice cake with an all-natural marshmallow fluff found at my local health market, but this cake packs a big flavor punch. I ended up scraping most of the fluff off, but I imagine an ice cream topping might also be a nice way to top things off.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Mini Spice Cake

Leave a Reply

