Easy Fried Rice

Ever since I eliminated preservatives from my diet, I’ve been missing an old, favorite. Many a Friday night, homemade fried rice was my go-to comfort food. The problem is that the seasoning packets I used to use were chalked full of preservatives–more than I care to think about, even now.

But a few weeks ago, I noticed a new post on Iowa Girl Eats’ Facebook page, called “Take Out, Fake Out: Easy Chicken Fried Rice.”

I investigated, and most of the ingredients were pretty acceptable by my standards.

Naturally, I’ve adjusted a bit and figured out how to create one healthful, heaping serving for one.

Did it taste the same though? Actually, yes! I was shocked at how good fried rice could taste, sans all the salt and preservatives.

The final verdict: I see more fried rice in my Friday night future (probably very soon).

Ingredients

2-3 oz. chicken tenders, cut into small pieces

1/2 cup cooked rice

1/4 cup frozen vegtables (I used carrots, peas, radishes)

optional: a small handful of sliced cabbage

1/2 t crushed garlic

dash of onion salt

1-2 t ginger (depending on how much you like)

1 T low-sodium soy sauce

1 egg

Directions

-In a small or medium skillet, cook chicken pieces in crushed garlic, salt, and part of ginger.

-Once the grease from the chicken begins to collect in the skillet, add in vegetables, cooking for another 3-5 minutes. But if you’re going to add cabbage, save for the end.

-When chicken and vegetables are almost cooked, push to sides, making a hole in the center of the skillet. Crack egg and let fry for a few minutes in the middle.

-Once egg is almost cooked, add in rice. Mix in remaining ginger and soy sauce. Turn until rice is sticky and well-coated in chicken-vegetable mixture.

Leave a Reply

