Pumpkin Protein Bar

October tastes like pumpkin!

As I trained for my first half marathon, I was inhaling protein and carbs to keep my body fueled. Hence why I love this yummy fall protein bar.

Really, it’s more like a dessert or a breakfast bar. It’s so soft and cake-like you’ll want to make another.

So as the weather cools off a bit, making morning runs a bit nicer, I like to make my post-morning-run snack a bit sweeter with my single-serving version of Snack Girl’s protein bar recipe.

Makes 1 big bar

Ingredients

2 t whole wheat flour

2 t protein powder

2 T rolled oats

pinch of baking powder, salt, and stevia

1T peanut butter + 1 t cocoa powder (mixed)
1.5 t honey

1 T canned pumpkin

2 Tablespoons pumpkin seeds (pepitas)

1.5 t raisins

Directions

-Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease a cookie sheet or ramekin if you’d like a round bar.

-Combine all dry ingredients, except the seeds and raisins. Then mix in pumpkin and honey. Blend well.

-Fold in raisins, seeds, and any other mix-ins you’d like. Using your hands, pat the batter a bit to form the shape you’d like for your cookie sheet. I went with a traditional, rectangular bar shape.

-Bake for 7-9 minutes for a softer, cakier bar, or longer for a crispier one.

As you can see, the ice cream lover in me couldn’t ‘resist topping this delicious treat with a little chocolate ice cream. I swear though that when I did this it was actually for dessert. Although, I wouldn’t have felt that bad if it had been for breakfast, too.

Or you can always spread a little PB over the top. Mix some with vanilla yogurt for a sweet topping.

Leave a Reply

