Savory Everything Bagel for One

I do some of my best thinking on my long, weekend-morning runs. I just space out. I give myself time to think through decisions and issues I’ve been putting off all week because my mind has been too focused on work. I take time to reflect.

This past Sunday morning I had another good idea.

Okay, this one isn’t very deep, but it was an ah-hah! moment for me.

Bagels.

Yes, bagels, which I smelled baking toward the end of my run as I rounded the corner of 4th and S. Duff Avenue. They smelled so good, but most nutritionist recommend avoiding them at all costs. The ones made in cafes are a simple carb nightmare, and in no way to they fuel you effectively so you can power through your day. Instead, they leave you feeling hungrier sooner, and spike your blood sugar levels to the extreme.

But as a distance runner, I need carbs desperately. Bagels are a good source. I just needed to figure out a way to “healthify” them.

So I ran in the door and pinned for a bagel recipe. With a few healthy tweaks and a little portion refiguration, I had the perfect savory bagel–similar to the everything bagel I crave from Panera.

And as you can see, I didn’t stop there.

I fried up a few egg whites and tomatoes sauteed in cumin. Then, I topped with a slice of soy cheese. (Yes, I genuinely love Veggie Slices American Cheese. It really is delicious! And it doesn’t bother my lactose allergy.)

Carbs, fresh eggs, and melty cheese. A match made in Heaven, to be sure.

And to satisfy my notorious sweet tooth, I added some fresh apples on the side, picked from my favorite apple tree on 8th & Grand Avenue. I’m really going to be bumming once all the apples are gone.

Fall runs, fresh apples, and hearty breakfast sandwiches. Does life get any better than this?

Ingredients

1/2 cup whole wheat bread flour

1/2 T stevia

dash of salt

3/4 T olive oil

1/2 t instant yeast

1/2 cup warm (but not burning hot) water

1 t onion powder

toppings of choice: I used poppyseeds and sesame seeds

Directions

Mix all dry ingredients, except toppings, and then blend in oil and water. Knead for a few minutes, and then let rest for about 15 minutes.

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Lightly grease a cookie sheet. Set aside.

Once dough has rested, pick it up again and easily knead a bit, adding in a few more t warm water if it has dried out too much.

Roll dough into ball and set aside. Sprinkle your toppings into another bowl.

Pick up the dough ball and use your thumbs to gently puncture a hole in the center. Mold into one bagel-shaped O, and once ready, press the top of the bagel into toppings bowl. Place on cookie sheet and bake for about 13-15 minutes.

2 thoughts on “Savory Everything Bagel for One

  1. Pingback: Blue & Berry Good Bagel for One | Collegiate Culinaire

  2. Pingback: Strawberry-Vanilla Heart Scone | Collegiate Culinaire

Leave a Reply

