Baked Egg Tomato Cup

Late last summer I was bored with my regular breakfast routine (whole-grain cereals mixed with peanut butter, cinnamon, banana slices, and almond milk), so I decided to experiment on a very small, runt-like tomato from my grandfather’s garden.
In this tomato, I tested an egg cup recipe I’d seen popping up on Pinterest.
It turned out pretty good. The combination of garlic, dill, and Parmesan mixed up my tired old breakfast routine, and it was fun to bake an egg in a “tomato cup” instead of frying in a pan or microwaving in a mug.
Listed below is the very small recipe I experimented with, but simply double or triple the ingredient amounts for more tomato cups, which, by the way, I think would make an interesting conversation-starter side dish to any brunch party.

A little tomato for a little experiment.

Ingredients
1 medium-sized tomato
Seasonings, to taste (I used black pepper, dill weed, and a little garlic-onion blend)
1 T fresh corn kernels
1 large egg (or two egg whites)
1 T onion or chives, chopped
1 t grated Parmesan cheese
Directions
-Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Lightly grease a pan. Set aside.
-Approaching the carving process like you might a pumpkin, slice off the top part of the tomato. Set aside. If you have a melon baller, I recommend using that to carve out the pulp, but a small sharp knife will work just as well. Be careful not to poke through the walls of the tomato or else the egg mixture may seep out.
-Once you’ve carved out a sizeable hole, drain any excess juice by setting the tomato upside down.
-In a small bowl, mix all remaining ingredients ’til well-blended. Pour the egg mixture in the drained tomato. Place on greased sheet, leaving some room at the top because the egg mixture will expand while it cooks in the oven.
-Bake for 30-35 minutes or until egg mixture is no longer transparent.
For a crispier egg cup, I broiled mine for a few minutes. Very tasty.
Leave a Reply

