Grain-Free Lemon Poppyseed Muffin

As I celebrated my 23rd birthday this year in the twin cities with my boyfriend’s family, I did a lot of shopping. Ikea is in Minneapolis. If you follow my blog, you know I love all things Swedish. Ikea is no exception. A trip was in order.

What caught my eye this time was a set of flower-bud silicone cupcake/ muffin cups. They were adorable. Innovative. Perfect for my addiction to baking single lady muffins and cupcakes.

I tried to convince myself I didn’t need them, but Mary, my boyfriend’s mother who is super sweet, tried to convince me otherwise.

I’m frugal and hard to convince, but she threw them in the cart and got them for me. How sweet 🙂

Anyway, for my first trial bake with my new silicone cups, I tried this grain-free lemon doughnut recipe from Healthful Pursuit. Of course, I adapted it, turning it into a single-serving version and a muffin. I’ve never been a fan of doughnuts, really. A soft, fluffy muffin is always more desirable in my mind.

Ingredients

2 T coconut flour

1 T almond flour (or spelt)

pinch of salt and baking soda

.5 T stevia

1 T applesauce

1 T organic vanilla yogurt

1/2 an egg, mixed

splash of vanilla

4 squeezes of lemon (that’s half of a round, or a twist)

1 t poppyseeds

optional: lemon zest

Directions

-Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease whatever muffin tin or dish you choose to bake with (because you could make the same recipe in doughnut maker or shaper, too!). Set aside.

-In a small bowl, combine all dry ingredients; then mix together remaining wet ingredients. Combine the two.

-Transfer to prepared dish. Bake for approximately 8 minutes.

Serve warm, if you like, with organic preserves, maybe? Or vegan cream cheese? Cool whip? I had mine plain, and it was plenty flavorful on its own.

One thought on “Grain-Free Lemon Poppyseed Muffin

  1. Pingback: Une Vanilla-Pear Cupcake | Collegiate Culinaire

Leave a Reply

