Asian Lettuce Wraps

There’s a food blogger I love, Nom Nom Paleo, who comes up with great paleo recipes. I’m not paleo, but I know many who are trying, so I frequent her site quite often. Her recipes are brilliant.

Like this fresh take on the lettuce wrap. I adapted it a bit with some different veggies and used ground turkey instead of grass-fed beef, and I have to say that although I usually hate leftovers, I made two batches–one for my work lunch the following day.

Makes one serving.

Ingredients

  • 1/4 lb. of ground organic turkey
  • 2 oz. of thinly sliced mushrooms
  • 2 T onion, chopped
  • 1 t crushed garlic (or 1/2 clove)
  • 1/2 cup of broccoli slaw (I steamed and shredded my own)
  • 2 T shredded carrots
  • 4 T red and yellow peppers, diced and sliced, respectively
  •  few t of cilantro, coarsely chopped
  • 1 T fish sauce
  • 1 T apple cider vinegar
  • 1 t coconut oil
  • freshly ground black pepper

Lettuce for wraps. I used romaine hearts because it’s a bit more nutrient dense than iceberg lettuce, but kale might also be good.

Directions

-Brown ground turkey in a small frying pan. Drain grease, but consider leaving a tad in the bottom of the pan to spread around and cook veggies in, as opposed to adding more oil to cook veggies in.

-Start mixing in veggies. I added in my garlic and mushrooms first (and gave them plenty of space to sautee [giving nod to Julia Child!]), then the onions ’til they turned golden in color. Then the broccoli, carrots, peppers, cilantro, fish sauce, vinegar, and coconut oil. Sautee for about 5 minutes.

-Be sure to remove any excess grease before you spoon the mix into the lettuce wraps. Trust me, it’ll be much easier to eat.

Leave a Reply

