Little Vanilla Cupcakes

Today is a special day that called for an equally special recipe.

I won’t make you guess. It’s my 23rd birthday.

It’s funny because my mom, my grandpa, and I all get a little sentimental-sad on our birthdays (in a bittersweet sort of way). But I wasn’t feeling too sad today! No, every year I’m aware of this creeping feeling, and now I fight it. I remind myself over and over again how lucky I am to be alive and well (which are also the lyrics to my favorite post-run, cool-down song).

I’m also very lucky to have tried so many delicious, healthy desserts over the past year, which for the most part have been very tasty. I’ve truly treated myself this year.

But sometimes, though, when you’re using healthful, whole-food ingredients, things just don’t turn out as pretty.

It’s not much of a sacrifice, but it doesn’t make blogging easy. Or at least, it’s not as easy to express how wonderful my recipes taste. The pictures never do the recipes justice. I have been holding out for a perfect vanilla cupcake recipe for a long time. One that wouldn’t have grainy lumps and somewhat brownish coloring.

Well it looks like I’ve found it (and just in time for my birthday!). Thanks once again to Chocolate-Covered Katie.

It seems the solution lies in equal parts spelt flour and French vanilla yogurt. I swear, she’s a genius. Now all I needed to do was to make her party-sized recipe a single-serving one.

Mission accomplished:

Makes one very big or two small cupcakes

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup spelt flour
  • pinch of baking powder, salt, baking soda
  • 2 tsp ener g powder, or 1 flax or chia egg (see directions here)
  • 1.5 T stevia
  • .75 t pure vanilla extract
  • 3-4 T vanilla yogurt of choice
  • 1 T milk of choice
  • 1 t coconut oil

Directions

-Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and place 1-2 paper liners in a muffin. Set aside.

-Mix all dry ingredients in a bowl and push to one side.

-On the other side of the bowl, combine all wet ingredients and stir. Mix wet into dry ’til just combined (don’t overmix).

-Bake for about 10 minutes or until you can insert a toothpick and remove it without any batter clinging to it.

-Let sit at least 10 before removing from muffin tins.

These turned out so good, and for once, I think the pictures actually do them justice.

Know what I want to try now? Cake cookies! I bet they’d turn out so fluffy and perfect. Cheers to baked goods that look good, taste even better, and make for a healthful indulgence!

4 thoughts on “Little Vanilla Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Orange Dream Cupcake | Collegiate Culinaire

  2. Pingback: PB&J Cupcake | Collegiate Culinaire

  3. Pingback: Cake Cups + Filling Ideas | Collegiate Culinaire

  4. Pingback: Margarita Cupcake | Collegiate Culinaire

Leave a Reply

