Party Idea: Pizza Bar

My friend Sareena is one of those women who’s just adorable and doesn’t know it.

This summer, she had some of us over for a pizza night (this was pre-parfait bar party, by the way). Each guest was given a homemade ball of pizza dough to make into whatever they wanted. Literally, whatever. Different shapes, toppings, and sauces, giving you complete freedom to let your culinary mind run wild.

I didn’t go too crazy, of course. I’m a lover of classic tomato sauce, and I only disturbed my lactose allergy a tad with some fresh mozzarella. True to form, my St. Louis palette led me to make a thin crust pizza with classic Italian seasonings mix, peppers, and onions. Plus, some tomatoes, arugula, and artichoke hearts for good measure!

The best part, though, was the sharing. We had an extra ball of dough left, so we co-created a Chicken Alfredo pie that was a nice change from what I usually pick.

I’d enthusiastically recommend this party idea to anyone. There’s just something fun about creating something, especially food, and it made for easy entertaining. To do so, follow these tips:

Dough

Prepare enough dough balls for each guest in attendance–plus a few extras in case other guests tag along, pizzas are burnt, or you just want to create something crazy and indulge a bit more. For a great whole-wheat dough recipe, check out the one I used for my Farm Fresh Veggie Pizza.

Toppings

Sareena’s party was a hit because she generously set out so many toppings. Get a feel for what your guests might like beforehand, but try a few new ingredients, too. Here’s a list to get you started:

Sausage

Chicken

Meatballs

Hamburger

Shrimp

Pepperoni

Anchovies

Bacon

Capers

Tomatoes

Peppers

Onions

Avocado

Mushrooms

Broccoli

Roasted Cauliflower

Eggplant

Pineapple

Greens (alfalfa, arugula, basil leaves, etc.)

Nuts (pine, almond slices, etc.)

Allergies

Keep in mind that your guests may have food allergies. I cave in and disregard my lactose allergy sometimes, but I try to ignore it. If you have a lactose-intolerant guest, encourage them to make a cheese-free pizza! They exist, and they’re delicious! Also, if you have guests with gluten allergies, you could try my smell-and-tastes-so-good cauliflower pizza crust recipe. It really is to die for. Gluten allergy or not, I highly recommend it. I also featured a gluten-free cornbread crust, which makes for a great Mexican-Italian infusion experience!

  

Dessert

You’ll probably be stuffed from all the yummy pizza you ate, but if you wanted to feature a dessert, or if your gluten-free guest would like, you can try my gluten-free dessert pizza. Again, so yummy. If you don’t feature it at your pizza party, just try it for breakfast one morning. Absolutely worth it.

2 thoughts on “Party Idea: Pizza Bar

  1. Pingback: Valley Fair Amusement Park « Reflections with Rhonda

  2. Pingback: Portabella Pizza Appetizers | Collegiate Culinaire

Leave a Reply

