Baked Parmesan Tomatoes

I’m a lycopene addict.

Not really, but it seems that foods with lycopene tend to be my favorites: watermelon, chicken, asparagus…

And then there’s my love affair with tomato. Pasta sauces, tomato juice, salsas, and most importantly, ketchup! Ever since I was a little girl, I’d slurp ketchup while waiting for meals to come in restaurants. Yes, that’s a little gross and embarrassing to admit.

My point is this: tomatoes are hard for me to resist. I probably eat them almost every day. And that’s a beautiful problem to have because the phytonutrient lycopene is a model cancer-fighting nutrient.

So here’s how I got my tomato fix this summer evening. Adapted slightly from Eating Well’s  Baked Parmesan Tomatoes recipe, my single-serving version, featuring my favorite kind of tomato, the Roma!

Enjoy.

Ingredients

  • 3 Roma tomato ends
  • 1 T freshly grated Parmesan cheese (I think this might taste really good with ricotta, too)
  • 1 t chopped fresh oregano
  • freshly ground pepper, to taste
  • 1 t extra-virgin olive oil

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 450° F. Lightly grease a baking sheet and set aside.
  2. Place tomatoes cut-side up on a baking sheet. If they wobble over a bit due to an uneven bottom, feel free to level the bottom by slicing off uneven edges. You may also want to hollow out the insides of the tomato if you’d like a deeper, cheesier tomato.
  3. Top with Parmesan, oregano, and pepper. Drizzle with oil and bake until the tomatoes are tender, about 10-15 minutes.

Too easy, right? The perfect side dish, maybe…

Leave a Reply

