Pineapple Sherbert

Today, I’m thinking pineapples.

Jillian Michaels, of whom I’m a fan, isn’t crazy about them because they’re very sweet, but in comparison to other sweet treats from nature (fruits, that is) they’re among the least nutritious.

But the pineapple’s incredible sweetness makes it difficult for a sweet tooth to resist. And besides, I’ve read that they have some digestive health benefits… Spoon up!

Here’s a recipe I thought up all by myself, while hiking and daydreaming about sherbert in the hot, desert climate of Phoenix last month. I hope you find it as scrumptious as I do!

Ingredients

1 1/4 cup fresh pineapple (chunked)

2 T milk of choice

4 T coconut milk

1 T stevia

twist of lime

a teeny dash of salt

Directions

-Combine all ingredients in a blender or food processor and blend until a smooth liquid forms. Then simply pour into your ice cream maker and mix for as long as your machine directs (mine was about 17 minutes).

-Serve chilled with lime to garnish if you like.

This recipe makes quite a bit of sherbert. It’s so healthy that you could probably get away with eating all of it, but pineapple is very filling. If you want to save the rest, I like to pour my leftovers into popsicle molds and save for later.

True confession: Sometimes I eat these or my orange dreamsicle pops for breakfast. It feels like a morning dessert, but really, it’s just fruit and dairy. And what’s more, it’s a nice cool treat for this time of year when temperatures are soaring even in the earliest part of the day.

 

One thought on “Pineapple Sherbert

  1. Pingback: Every Saturday…sherbert and ice cream « whitehothair

Leave a Reply

