Ice Cream Whoopie Pies

If you follow my blog, you know that I love nothing more than taking the warm, soft cookies I bake and sandwiching them around a big dollop of ice cream.

I figured, then, that it was high time I try my whisk at a whoopie pie recipe–ice cream style.

I opted to go a la mode instead of doing a cream filling because I’ve yet to find a cream filling recipe I love that meets my whole-food standards.

I have to say, I don’t see how these are very different from regular soft-baked cookies. But why question the difference? What’s good is good. And when it’s a good dessert, it’s the best.

Makes 4 “whoopies” or 2 pies.

Ingredients

2 t oil (I used coconut because it’s the sweetest)

1.5 t brown sugar

1/8 of a large egg (mixed, or flax egg)

pinch of vanilla, baking powder, baking soda, and salt

3 T flour (ww pastry flour works best, but I used 1 T spelt +1 T coconut+ 1T whole wheat)

1 T cocoa powder

2 T milk

Directions

-Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease a cookie sheet. Set aside.

-Combine flour(s) and other dry ingredients well. Push dry mix to one side of the bowl, and in the other side combine the wet ingredients. Blend the two together ’til a chocolatey batter forms.

-Divide batter into four parts. Roll each part into a ball in your palms and the flatten for a smooth finish. Place on cookie sheet and bake for about 7-8 minutes for a softer cookie.

-Let the cookies cool so that the cream filling or ice cream doesn’t melt too quickly.

What did I use for filling?

My very yummy coconut froyo! Check it out if you’d like a chocolate-coconut sweets experience.

4 thoughts on “Ice Cream Whoopie Pies

  1. Pingback: Berrylicious Trifle | Collegiate Culinaire

  2. Pingback: Apple Pie Cookies | Collegiate Culinaire

  3. Pingback: Guilt-Free Gingerbread Cookies | Collegiate Culinaire

  4. Pingback: Chewy Vanilla Coconut Cookies | Collegiate Culinaire

Leave a Reply

