Sweet and Soft Strawberry Cookies

 

Nothing is sweeter than a fresh, ripe strawberry.

Good tidings came my way when I happened upon this strawberry-glazed doughnut recipe from MaryQuiteContraryBakes. I had to try it because–as I’ve learned from other baking recipes that feature fruit, such as my blue velvet chocolate muffins or my pretty-in-pink raspberry cupcakes–fruit purees make every dough incredibly moist.

So since I’ve tried blueberries and raspberries, it seems only fitting that strawberries get their day (or bake). But because I’m not a huge fan of doughnuts, I adapted the original recipe for cookies (plus healthier ingredients, of course).

It’s almost too bad these 5 little cookies were kept all too myself. They’d make an adorable addition to any brunch party or shower. But if you want a bigger version of this single-serving recipe, let me know and I’ll get it to you.

Makes about 5 small cookies (or 2 medium-sized doughnuts)

Ingredients

3 T flour ( I used spelt)

a pinch of baking powder, salt, cinnamon, and vanilla

1 heaping T milk

1 T stevia

.5 t vegan butter

1/5 egg (mixed, or flax egg)

.5 t maple syrup or agave

1 t strawberry preserves

1 medium to large strawberry (ripe, pureed or well smashed)

Directions

-Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Lightly grease a cookie sheet and set aside.

-Combine all dry ingredients in a small bowl; push to one side. On the other side, mix all wet ingredients. Combine wet and dry thoroughly. It’s okay if there are some chunks of fruit in the batter, but too many or too large of a chunk will bake into a gummy texture you won’t like.

-To form cookies, roll into small balls. If you’d like, however, to make doughnuts, you can simply shape a doughnut round by using a specialized pan, or doing as I do, which is using the rim of a muffin tin slot to shape an O. You could also use a cookie cutter that’s shaped like an O, but if you do this make sure the dough is thick enough–consider layering two or three Os.

-Bake for about 6-7 minutes.

Serve with fresh strawberry preserves or another favorite topping.

For me, it’s dark chocolate chips all the way.

5 thoughts on “Sweet and Soft Strawberry Cookies

  1. Pingback: Cake Cups + Filling Ideas | Collegiate Culinaire

  2. Pingback: Berrylicious Trifle | Collegiate Culinaire

  3. Pingback: Guilt-Free Gingerbread Cookies | Collegiate Culinaire

  4. Pingback: Deep Dish Mug Cookie for One | Collegiate Culinaire

  5. Pingback: Lemon-Blueberry Muffin Cookies | Collegiate Culinaire

Leave a Reply

