Peanut Butter Bread

I know almond butter is having “the best year ever,” and I’ll acknowledge that it is good.

But nothing beats good old peanut butter. I eat it in some way almost every weekday morning, right after my workouts.  Usually a whole grain cereal with almond milk, a sprinkle of cinnamon, and some sweet, fresh banana slices. Yum! When paired with healthy carbs–like whole-grain cereal and banana–this protein-packed nut butter is the perfect post-workout recovery meal. It gives you enough energy to power you through the day, and as of late, I’ve been reading that it fights cancer. Phenomenal.

But when I came across Chocolate-Covered Katie’s peanut butter sandwich bread recipe, I was skeptical. I like the creaminess (and on occasion, the chunkiness) of the butter. How could this be the same?

I don’t know that I prefer my peanut butter whipped into my bread batter on a regular basis, but it was good! A nice change of pace , really. Almost like a little loaf of peanut butter cake.

But per usual, I didn’t want a whole loaf of peanut butter bread, I only wanted to try one (very big) slice. So I did the calculations, and made a few swaps (i.e. coconut flour for regular), and came up with this single-serving recipe to share with you. 🙂

Ingredients

  • 3 T whole-wheat flour
  • 1 T coconut flour
  • 1 heaping T peanut butter
  • 1 t applesauce (or 2 tbsp more pb, or mashed banana)
  • 1 t stevia
  • pinch of baking powder, (small) salt, and vanilla
  • 1 t cinnamon
  • 3 t almond milk

 

Directions

-Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Lightly grease a ramekin, small bread bowl, or a cookie sheet. I got a little creative and just shaped mine into a bread slice. A little silly, but hey, I wanted the feeling of eating a slice without make a whole loaf in order to get one!

-In a small bowl, combine all dry ingredients. Push to one side. On the other side of the bowl, mix wet ingredients, and then combine with dry.

-Shape into a bread slice (or cookies?) and place on cookie sheet or in preferred baking dish. Bake about 8-9 minutes for a soft slice, longer for crispier. And if you like a crispier bread, be sure to spread the dough out fairly thin. Mine, as you can see, is pretty thick.

-Once you can insert a toothpick and pull it out without any batter, remove the bread. You could let it cool, but everyone likes warm bread.

I couldn’t make up my mind about how to each this bread. Creamy banana slices? Melted chocolate chips? Crunched peanuts? Berry preserves for a PB&J-style slice?

 

Obviously I sampled a few options, but true to my love of chocolate, I saved the best bite for last.

4 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Bread

  1. Pingback: Apple Sammies with Peanut-Butter-Yogurt Spread | Collegiate Culinaire

  2. Pingback: No-Bake Peanut Butter Balls | Collegiate Culinaire

  3. Pingback: Apple-Cinnamon Haystacks | Collegiate Culinaire

  4. Pingback: Cinnamon Roll Baked Oatmeal | Collegiate Culinaire

Leave a Reply

