Cheesy Zucchini Rice

 

This Monday was not my finest.

Zucchini: Superfood of Champions

Toward the end of my long run (12 miles) that morning, I had a horrible flare up in my ankle. It was bothering me all day Saturday as we walked around the Des Moines Farmers Market, and a bit on Sunday, too. But Monday morning I was feeling good. It was the last cool morning before the next heat wave sank in, and I just had to run.

It’s a great feeling. I love when I can’t resist hitting the pavement early in the morning, before everyone else’s day has started. It gives me time to think–or sometimes, not think–and I just really needed that on this particular morning.

Apparently, I was mistaken. The ankle started bruising and swelling. I started panicking.

I went to the Thielen Health Clinic, where I was gently scolded by the Dr. for not having a better running plan. (I need to start running when is convenient for my body’s training, not so much when my morning schedule permits.)

This was hard news to take. Sad and bed-ridden, I started researching everything I could about half-marathon training plans, running research, and much more.

BUT MORE IMPORTANTLY, my humor won out. My bad, panic-stricken, self-pitying ways diminished when I procrastinated across this article on the “8 Health Benefits of Zucchini.” (Remember the huge, infant-sized zucchini I picked up this past weekend at the farmers market? Yep, it’s still not gone & I’m still creating lots of single-serving recipes with it…).

One of the health benefits of zucchini is its anti-inflammatory properties.

I found this hilarious. Good thing I have about 4 more pounds of it left. Hopefully, I’ll be training again in no time.

So for your viewing (and maybe, cooking) pleasure today, I present to you what I had for lunch, my new favorite feel-better food: cheesy zucchini rice.

Yes, I can’t resist preparing good food, even when bed-ridden. Well, at least you can see that I minimized my standing time with this tray.

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup long-grain white rice
  • 1/4 cup low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1/2 – 3/4 cup shredded zucchini
  • 1/4 cup shredded sharp cheddar
  • pinch of garlic powder
  • splash of milk, as needed

Directions

-In a rice cooker, prepare your rice. Meanwhile, shred zucchini using an old-fashioned grater. Or if you’re fortunate enough to own a food processor, you can also shred using that.

-Once rice is finished, place on warm setting. Fill a pot with chicken broth and a splash of milk. Drop in rice and bring to a quick boil. Alternatively, if you don’t have a rice cooker, you can boil the rice in the chicken broth by scaling up the measurement of broth to 3/4 cup.

-Let boil just 2-3 minutes. Reduce to low and mix in zucchini, cheddar, garlic powder, and more milk if you’d like to thin out the consistency of the cheese sauce. Warm all the way through. “Bowl it” and serve.

 

One thought on “Cheesy Zucchini Rice

  1. Pingback: Zucchini Pizzas | Collegiate Culinaire

Leave a Reply

