Chocolate Pumpkin Cake for One

Collegiate Culinaire: Chocolate-Pumpkin Oat Cake

Chocolate-Covered Katie calls this a “Pizookie”—that is, a hybridized pizza-cookie creation—but in my opinion it’s a scrumptious little dessert cake with some a little oatiness. 

Again, I divided all ingredients she lists by 1/8 to make a smaller portion for myself, which I baked in a muffin tin (very lightly greased so flavor isn’t diminished) and added on a simple chocolate sauce and my favorite dark-chocolate chips.

How was it? Not surprisingly, very good. I was worried that the chickpeas might make it too salty, so I ended up subbing a little more pumpkin for the chickpeas, but not too much. In my opinion, it turned out better than I expected.

Pumpkin Chocolate-Chip Pizookie

(gluten free!)

Obviously inspired by the Deep-Dish Cookie Pie.

  • 2 cans white beans or garbanzos (drained and rinsed) (500g total, once drained)
  • 1 cup quick oats
  • 1/4 cup pureed pumpkin (or butternut squash or sweet potato)
  • 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 and 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 3 tbsp vegetable oil or coconut oil
  • 1 and 1/2 cups brown sugar or coconut sugar (For a sugar-free version, perhaps try xylitol. Also, white sugar will work if you don’t have brown. Also: I know some readers have successfully made my original pie with agave, but I haven’t tried it.)
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Blend everything (except the chips) very well in a food processor (NOT a blender). Blend until it’s super-smooth. Mix in chips, and pour into a pan. (I used a 10-inch springform pan, but you can use a smaller pan if you want a really deep-dish pie.) Cook at 350F for 35 minutes. Let stand at least 10 minutes before removing from the pan.

4 thoughts on “Chocolate Pumpkin Cake for One

  1. Pingback: Chocolate-Chip Mug Muffin | Collegiate Culinaire

  2. Pingback: Pumpkin-Pie Stuffed Chocolate Cookies | Collegiate Culinaire

  3. Pingback: Raw Pumpkin Spice Cookies | Collegiate Culinaire

  4. Pingback: Deep Dish Mug Cookie for One | Collegiate Culinaire

Leave a Reply

