S’ghetti Squash

Collegiate Culinaire: S’ghetti Squash

To go along with my newly-acquired sauce making abilities, I (finally!) tried a spaghetti squash recipe!

I’ve been wanting to try my hand at this for quite awhile, but I’ve been putting off this recipe because I was unsure just how well it would go. I mean, doesn’t a stringy squash sound a little odd to you? It did to me, and I’m a fairly open-minded foodie.

But if you like squash, you’ll love this recipe! And if you’re on the paleo diet—or any other low-carb diet for that matter—this recipe is a must.

Although I admire paleo dieters and have witnessed firsthand the effectiveness of this diet, I am not paleo. Lack of carbs makes me grouchy, not to mention I just enjoy them too much.

Here’s the recipe from a new favorite foodie blog my friend Sara Parks introduced me to, Nom Nom Paleo:

  • Slice one spaghetti squash in half with a very sharp knife, but be careful as the stem and other parts are difficult to cut through. I sawed mine, really. Sort of in the same way you’d saw a pumpkin. You’ll also want to remove the seeds and extra gunk from the inside. (I wonder if spaghetti squash seeds can proclaim the same health benefits of pumpkin seeds?)
  • Once you have two clean halves, lightly coat each with an oil or spray. Season as desired.
  • Lay the open sides of the squash down on a microwave-safe glass dish. 
  • Microwave on high for 8-12 minutes. If your microwave doesn’t have a rotating disk, you’ll want to move the dish around every 3-5 minutes.
  • Continually check the squash. Once it’s softened up a bit, you can take it out. Let it sit and cool for about 10 minutes.
  • Then comes the fun! Take your fork and scratch out the “noodles.” Place in a bowl and serve with your favorite sauce and garnishes.

I’d also recommend checking out this recipe and others from Nom Nom Paleo. She seems to have a lot of other promising recipes, and I was smiling while reading her directions because she expressed herself in expletives quite a bit. But I can appreciate that. Cooking is hard work!

Nom Nom Paleo

One thought on “S’ghetti Squash

  1. Pingback: Zucchini Lasagna | Collegiate Culinaire

Leave a Reply

