Ramekin-Size Turkey Meatloaves

Collegiate Culinaire: Mini Turkey Meatloaves

Comfort food doesn’t have to leave you feeling uncomfortable about your dining options. This recipe from Fitness Magazine features ground turkey instead of beef, skim milk, less egg, and whole wheat bread crumbs. 

Not too shabby, I’d say. The recipe suggests baking in muffin tins, but I have this weird discomfort about eating meat shaped like bread, so I made a few in ramekins. Not much better, but at least they looked less like muffins. Then again, the muffin shape does sort of look like a burger or patty…

Alright, I need to stop thinking about this or I’m going to forget just how good these actually were!

And yes, that is a fresh ear of corn, which I had as a side. I do live in Iowa, after all.

Directions

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Saute 2 tablespoons minced yellow onion and 1 garlic clove, minced, in a small skillet coated with nonstick cooking spray for 2 minutes; remove from heat. Add 5 ounces lean ground turkey, 2 teaspoons skim milk, 1/2 beaten egg, 3 tablespoons whole wheat bread crumbs, 1 teaspoon mustard, 1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce, and 1 teaspoon capers; mix to combine. Place turkey mixture in a small muffin tin coated with nonstick cooking spray; bake 15 minutes. Serve with 1 1/2 cups steamed green beans tossed with 1 tablespoon lemon juice and a drizzle of olive oil.

I mixed some fresh parsley leaves in mine and a dash of caraway seed. I’m also in love with this all natural Worcestershire sauce I found from Lea & Perrin’s. In my humble opinion, paying a little more for low-sodium, high-fructose-free corn syrup alternatives is always worth it.


Leave a Reply

