Raw Snickerdoodles

Collegiate Culinaire: Raw Snickerdoodle Truffles

The joy of cooking, for me, is learning how much I love foods I’ve never been exposed to before. This recipe, for instance, has dates.

I saw a lot of raw truffle recipes using a date base around Christmas time, but I was hesitant to try them because I’ve always been told that dates are “old people food.” That’s just so wrong! I’m blaming my sweet little mother for this injustice.

Anyway, these weren’t as big of a hit at the tutor potluck, but I assume this is because my German Chocolate Bites were just too chocolate-y to resist. Even though the ingredients in the bites are very similar, chocolate is, well, chocolate! Who could resist?

They didn’t. The bites went quickly.

They said they liked these, too, and I know I certainly did. I didn’t mind taking home the leftovers. The one thing I would change, though, is that my version of the Chocolate-Covered Katie recipe featured a little shredded coconut. I can’t seem to get enough coconut, but it did throw off that traditional snickerdoodle taste. Oh, well. You cook, you learn.

(Yields a bit more than the size of two Larabars)

  • 30 grams unsalted, raw almonds
  • 80 grams dates (if you don’t know what type of dates to use, see the Baby FAQ post)
  • a bit over 1/16th tsp salt
  • very scant 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • heaping 1/8 tsp cinnamon
  • pinch cream of tarter (I’m not sure it actually needs the c.o.t. But real snickerdoodle cookies have it, so I sometimes add it.)

Blend in your food processor. Smush into cookies, or balls, or bars, or even cookie-cuttered shapes.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

