Salsa Rice

I found this really neat site on Pinterest: My Fridge Food. The site lets you select what’s currently in your fridge, and then it uses your selections to find quick & easy recipes featuring the ingredients you have available to you.

When I punched in my fridge foods, one of the recipes that came up was Salsa Rice.

Salsa what?

I have lots of salsa on hand always, so I was intrigued. What would a salsa rice taste like? Would it be good?

I doctored up this recipe a bit, adding in some spices and seasoned tomatoes, but I think you could easily follow the original recipe (1 cup rice cooked, 1/2 cup salsa) and have a tasty meal in a pinch.

It almost seems like the perfect bachelor recipe–like a Spanish rice my dad could whip up in just a few minutes.

Note: Pick a salsa with all-natural ingredients. On The Border makes a good, all-natural salsa. Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods also have some great options.

Here’s the recipe I created:

Ingredients

-1 cup rice, cooked

-1/4 cup

-1 small tomato, sliced and sauteed in cumin and onion salt

-1 t hot sauce

-1 t chili powder

-red pepper flakes to taste

Directions

-Prepare rice.

-Meanwhile, grease a small saucepan with cooking spray. Add in sliced tomatoes and sautee with seasonings for about 5 minutes. Simmer ’til rice is ready.

-When the rice is finished cooking, mix into saucepan. Then mix in salsa, and then hot sauce, chili powder, and red pepper flakes. Mix well & serve warm.

Leave a Reply

