Honey Oat Cookies

Every once in a while when I’m bored, homesick or just embracing my domestic goddess, I cook. It doesn’t happen everyday because my shoestring stipend and time rarely permit me to indulge. But when I can, I do. 

When I do, I usually bake. For those that know me, I need not tell you that I hate going to the same restaurant twice. My leisure activities and baking attempts hardly hit replay.

Now that you know a bit more about my cooking philosophy, let me debut my first recipe:

Collegiate Culinary: Honey-Oat Cookies

1/2 cup of whole grain flour

1/4 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. salt

2 cups rolled oats

1/2 cup of sugar

1/2 cup of cooking oil

1 egg.

As much honey as you like…

Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees.

Combine the first list (all dry ingredients). Mix well.

Combine oil and egg. Beat well. Blend into the dry mix until wet. Drizzle as much honey as you see fit into mix and stir.

With hands, form tablespoon-size balls out of the dough. Drop onto cookie sheet.

Bake for 25 minutes.

Review: I really like these. They’re less caloric than most cookies, and they taste like a soft, sweet granola bar. Because I have a granola obsession, I’m inclined to rate these pretty high. However, they may not satisfy the “softness” criteria of other cookie lovers.

Leave a Reply

