My official statement on weddings

I just survived June and every other girl I know talking about weddings: her own, her sister’s and her best friend’s.

I love hearing about their venues, undertaking diy favors for guests, this summer’s most fashionable color schemes, bridesmaids’ dresses, honeymoon plans and wedding etiquette. Honestly, I eat it up.

Why? When I was young, I didn’t want to be the first female president or a stay-at-home mom. I wanted to be a wedding planner and hardly for romantic reasons. To me, a wedding is just an extravagant party (and Heaven knows I love a well-done party). Every guest, every decoration and every detail entrances me. Which is surprising, since the little girl in me with big wedding-planning dreams loves bridal-decor simplicity: bands sans diamonds, simple ceremonies, and the most romantic and best of all, simple elopements (especially ones that take lovers to Europe, not Las Vegas).

Having shared those ideas, don’t get any crazy notions about this Miss, who truly enjoyed marking single on the 2010 census because she knew it might be her last. I love my boyfriend of 2 years and 4 months and I love him simply. For now, the wedding bells will continue “tolling for everyone but me,” and I couldn’t be happier.

Leave a Reply

