Peanut Butter Cup Baked Oatmeal Cake

Chocolate for breakfast?

Remember a little while back when all the health blogs were reporting on the “dessert for breakfast weight loss strategy?” The logic here seems a little silly to me.

Do I think you can eat desserts without gaining weight?

Absolutely! And I think everyone has the right to indulge a little, so long as that indulgence is a healthful one that will fuel your body because good ingredients are used.

Do I think that using the aforementioned weight loss strategy as an excuse to overindulge could be risky?

Yes.

Here’s why. Although I strongly believe that you should give yourself a small treat everyday, especially if you’re extremely active, I think people can easily abuse this license to indulge, taking it too far. But I can see how eating a sweet treat early in the morning would stave off cravings or feelings of deprivation, and thus, lead people to overindulge in a less than ideal way later.

What makes more sense, to me, is that perhaps those who do indulge–caveat: healthfully–earlier in the day are probably more satiated. And I would imagine that these people practice better portion control practices and truly enjoy and experience their food as they eat it. It helps to focus on what you’re eating and enjoy it. Good food nourishes your body and gives you the energy you need to live a productive, fulfilling life.

And that’s why I indulge a little bit everyday. Usually, it’s in the evenings, but sometimes for breakfast I get my chocolate fix with this baked oatmeal cake recipe, which features two of my favorite ingredients: chocolate & peanut butter (yum!).

Ingredients

(serves 1)

  • 1/4 cup rolled oats
  • pinch of pure vanilla extract and salt
  • 1 T mashed banana
  • 2 T non-dairy milk
  • 1.5 t stevia
  • 1.5 t cocoa powder
  • 1 T peanut butter
  • Optional: handful of chocolate chips and an extra dab of peanut butter to swirl on top

    I baked my oatmeal cake in a small ramekin and then flipped it.

Directions

-Preheat oven to 380 degrees. Lightly grease a ramekin or muffin tin and set aside.

-Combine dry ingredients, and then mix in wet. Be sure to blend well.

-Pour batter into a greased 1-cup ramekin and bake for about 15 minutes or more, ’til firm.

-Last step, set your oven to “high broil” and continue to cook the baked oatmeal for 2 minutes, or until a desirable crispy-ness is reached.

Warm, swirled chocolate-y goodness!

I took some dark-chocolate chips and let them melt on their own. Then I added a few dabs of PB and swirled.

Yes, I have a weakness for warm gooey chocolate.

But in no way am I ashamed ;)

Leave a Reply

