Nature Valley Granola Bars

Granola is a nice, hearty fall food.

Growing up, I loved Nature Valley’s Honey-and-Oat bars.

So I was disappointed to learn this past fall, around the time I more or less committed to a “clean-eating” lifestyle, that one of my favorite granola companies used high-fructose corn syrup, along with other preservatives.

Fortunately, while out backpacking the Superior Trail this past summer, I read the ingredients listed on one of the Nature Valley Bars provided to us. If I’m remembering correctly, I don’t recall seeing any modified ingredients.

But sometimes, I don’t trust my own memory (or big companies).

And I wanted to try this copycat recipe from Chocolate-Covered Katie.

My review? Very “honey-licious” and nutritional. I’d certainly make these again, and they’re good enough to share with a group. In fact, I made up some bite-sized bars for the tutors at my writing center. They loved them.

The single-serving adaptation follows…

Copycat Nature Valley Granola Bar

  • 1/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1 T rice crispies (brown rice works well)
  • 1.5 T oat or whole-wheat flour
  • pinch of salt, baking soda
  • dash of non-dairy milk and vanilla
  • 1 t virgin coconut oil
  • 1.5 T honey (or other liquid sweetener)
  • 1 t stevia

Directions

-Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease a 5×7 pan–or whatever you have available–and set aside.

-Combine dry ingredients, then mix in wet. Transfer to the pan and press the mix down. You’ll have to press fairly hard to form. Make sure, too, that the bars are level in height throughout the pan.

-Bake for 15-18 minutes (longer for crispier bars).

-If you followed the multiple-serving recipe, wait at least 20 minutes before cutting. I might have actually waited longer.

If you love this recipe, try my Copycat Quaker Bars. They have chocolate chips and are super chewy, just like the real thing!

One thought on “Nature Valley Granola Bars

Leave a Reply

