Solo Lemon Cupcake

When life gives you lemons, bake something.

That’s a fantastic philosophy, I think.

Lemon pies and lemon bars and lemon poppy-seed muffins have never appealed all that much to me. I’m more of a vanilla & chocolate girl. I like the rich stuff.

But I was bored with my normal routine. For once, I found myself craving cake that was light and sweet, not rich.

For those very rare cravings, I have a new light friend–who just so happens to have double appeal to me since I love the color of…

Bright, yellow lemons!

Pretty, right? Even if you’re not a fan of lighter, fruit-flavored cakes, you’ve got to admit that this one is darling.

The recipe, created entirely by Chocolate-Covered Katie (I made no changes this time), is one of her many single-lady cupcake recipes, i.e. cupcake for one.

To make a single-lady cupcake or muffin, follow these directions:

Ingredients

(makes just one cupcake)

  • 3 tbsp flour (30g) (See directions for flour notes)
  • heaping 1/16th tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp applesauce, oil, pre-melted margarine (I used French vanilla yogurt), or a combination
  • 1 tbsp plus 1 tsp liquid (milk of choice or water)
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 to 1 1/2 packets of stevia should be about right. If you use liquid sweetener, cut back a tiny bit on the other liquid.)

Directions

-Preheat the oven to 330 degrees.

-Mix the ingredients and pour into an oiled (or sprayed) muffin pan. Smooth top of batter. Bake for about 10 minutes or so.

-Alternatively, you can cook in the microwave, in a greased mug or ramekin. (Microwave times will vary, depending on the flour you use and the strength of your microwave.

For a lemony twist

Ingredients for Lemon Cake

  • 1/4 tsp lemon juice (or try lemon extract)
  • pinch lemon zest
  • olive oil
  • ingredients for Single Lady cupcake

Directions

Follow the instructions for the Single Lady Cupcake, but add in lemon juice and reduce other liquids a bit. Katie recommends subbing half of the oil/ applesauce/ margarine part with olive oil, but I subbed all with French vanilla yogurt because I think it gives the smoothest, richest overall flavor and texture.

-Also add a little lemon zest, which you can do with a knife if you’re careful

Katie also blogs about a glaze, which I didn’t try, but I’ll post below because I’m sure it would be very good if you like glazes.

Easiest-Ever Lemon Glaze

  • 1 part lemon juice
  • 1 part sugar
  • optional: a few drops lemon extract

Microwave for 30 seconds, or warm in a saucepan on low heat, stirring until the sugar dissolves.

I hope you enjoy this cupcake as much as I did.

8 thoughts on “Solo Lemon Cupcake

  1. Pingback: Grain-Free Lemon Poppyseed Muffin | Collegiate Culinaire

  2. Pingback: Blueberry Lemon Poppy Seed Cupcakes – articles4friends

  3. Pingback: Orange Dream Cupcake | Collegiate Culinaire

  4. Pingback: PB&J Cupcake | Collegiate Culinaire

  5. Pingback: Lemon-Blueberry Muffin Cookies | Collegiate Culinaire

  6. Pingback: Cake Cups + Filling Ideas | Collegiate Culinaire

  7. Pingback: Une Vanilla-Pear Cupcake | Collegiate Culinaire

  8. Pingback: Margarita Cupcake | Collegiate Culinaire

Leave a Reply

