Chocolate-Chip Healthies

 

Collegiate Culinaire: Soft and Fluffy Choc-Chip Cookies

Oh, my goodness…

If Heaven made a cookie, it would taste like this.

The healthy dessert blogger has blown my mind, again. I made a half batch of these last week and can’t stop thinking about them! Seriously, how does Chocolate-Covered Katie make healthy taste so good?

Her recipe is below, but I made a few tweaks. I used two packets stevia instead of white sugar, 3 T almond milk, a t of cinnamon, and a little extra salt. Growing up, my mom’s ooey-gooey good cookies always featured a little extra salt and were a little underbaked. This cookie recipe reminds me of her less-than-healthy one quite a bit, but when you underbake these a tad, they are even better, I think. (Sorry, mom!) They’re not at all sticky and gross. Just super moist, almost like cake. 

I bet they would also taste really good with other mix-ins. I had one without any chocolate chips and it tasted almost like a snickerdoodle with the cinnamon I had added in.

Okay, enough of my inner cookie monster already! Here’s the recipe:

(makes 7-12 cookies)

  • 1/3 cup plus 1/4 cup flour (I used 70g oat flour. You can use all-purpose or spelt, or Bob’s gf.)
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda (not baking powder)
  • up to 1/3 cup chocolate chips, depending on your preference
  • 2 tbsp (20g) brown sugar or coconut sugar (don’t sub with white) Or, for sugar-free cookies, sub chocolate chips in the following linked recipe for: Sugar-Free Chocolate Chip Cookies.
  • 2 tbsp evaporated cane juice or white sugar (Omit only if, like me, you have no sweet tooth) (24g)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon (12g) vegetable or coconut oil (or pre-melted margarine) (If you want a fat-free version, see the cookie ball pop link, below.)
  • 1-3 tablespoons milk of choice, as needed (feel free to switch proportions of milk and oil) (15-45g)

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Mix your dry ingredients, then add in wet. Form cookies and bake 6-7 minutes. Take out when still underdone–they’ll continue to cook while cooling, and so you don’t want them to get hard. And if you want super-soft cookies, fridge the dough after rolling into balls. Then cook them after the dough is cold.

Leave a Reply

